Coronado Hospital Foundation

Coronado Hospital Foundation's
10th Anniversary Golf Tournament

On September 17, Coronado Hospital Foundation hosted its 10th Anniversary Golf Tournament in support of Sharp Coronado Hospital, co-chaired by Carol Sommer and Fahd Benjalil. It was a record-breaking year, raising $215,000 in net revenue. 

Special thanks to our Title Sponsor, The Auen Foundation, for their leadership and the Sharp Coronado Hospital Medical Staff for their continued support. We appreciate all the tournament sponsors, donors, underwriters, golfers, committee members and volunteers for making the day a success. 

Tournament proceeds will benefit The Campaign for Emergency and Intensive Care at Sharp Coronado. Campaign funds will allow the Emergency Department to expand from eight beds to 15, and will move the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) to the fourth floor, featuring seven state-of-the-art private rooms, eight acute-care patient rooms and a lounge for loved ones.

During this unique time, the safety of our players and volunteers was the highest priority. The tournament included staggered start times to reduce group gatherings, and social distancing was encouraged throughout the event. Sharp-branded face masks were provided to every player upon arrival. Golfers enjoyed sliders and snacks on the course, thanks to the Mindful Cafe and Little Frenchie's. The day was warm and sunny, so ice cream from MooTime Creamery hit the spot, and the cold smoothies donated by Sodexo were a refreshing treat.

Congratulations to our tournament award winners and winners of the opportunity drawings. 

Serious Golfers Flight I'll Do Better Tomorrow Flight Fun Loving Flight Low Gross
First Place First Place First Place First Place
Mark West Norm Timmins Chris DeFazio Dr. John Pedrotty
Bill Ramsey Spike Timmins Brian DeFazio Paul Socia
Curt Olson Josh Lamont Greg Horvath Lance Allard
Jim McKitrick Tommy Neer Elizabeth Sills Brian Smock
Second Place Second Place Second Place Putting Contest
Tin Oo Chris Oeland Jaye Park Female
Alex Velette Justine Madrigal Chris Walker Korrina Jumper
Elmer Jiminuez Meredith Meyers Stella Rancour  
Zach Paschall Wayne Hunter Dan Leavy  
Third Place Third Place Third Place Putting Contest 
Dr. Wayne Kurisu Steve Easley Ed Gross Male
Dr. Stephen Lee Bill Wilson Brian Blagg Norm Timmins
Dr. Douglas Brewster Kara Swedberg Matt Zoitz Tommy Neer
Dr. Douglas Schulz Brian Dettweiler Jim Martindale B. Holley


Opportunity Drawing   
Item Winner Name
Bar Cart Chris Oeland
Golf at Sycuan David Willms
Golf Coronado Scott Crockett
Coronado Staycation Ken Johnson
Orfila Wine Tasting Joe Belmonte
Private Wine Tasting for 12 Greg Apel
Antioxident Facial  Curt Olson
Mindful Cafe Dinner Gabe Navarro
Membership to SD History Center (3 available) David Willms, Peter Hamilton, Wayne Hunter
Coronado-opoly Wayne Hunter
40" Roku Smart TV Blake Knudsen
VIP Lotto Scratchers Shawn Koura
Grand Prize Puerto Vallarta Rick Ross

If you are interested in more information about our 2021 tournament, please contact Sandy Gross at or 619-522-3766. 

2020 Sponsors

Sharp Coronado Medical Staff


Title Sponsor

The Auen Foundation


$10,000 Double Eagle Sponsors

Carol Sommer 

Swinerton Builders


$5,000 Eagle Sponsors

Bender Dean Engineering, Inc.

CalPrivate Bank

Chest Medicine and Critical Care Medical Group

Coast Surgical Group

Cosco Fire Protection, Inc.

Emerald Textiles

G/M Business Interiors

Hamilton and Christensen Families

San Diego Imaging Medical Group

Sharp Rees Steely Medical Group

Southern California GI and Liver Centers

Xenex Disinfection Services


$2,500 Birdie Sponsors

Baker Electric, Inc.

BSD Builders

CDG Builders

Dr. Kevin Considine and Dr. Lisa Considine

Cuningham Group Architecture, Inc.


Tanner Engineering


$2,500 Lunch Sponsor

SharpCare Medical Group


$2,500 Tee Prize Sponsor



$2,000 Putting Contest Sponsor

Chandler Asset Management


$1,000 Military / First Responder Sponsors

Christian Esquevin and Sydney Stanley

The Fleury Family 

Jeanne Grote

CDR Ernest E. Kemp

Ken and Sue Kjoller

Joyleen Rottenstein


Hole Sponsors

Madhu Arora

Cliff and Mary Bee

Debbie Bell and Gary Smith

The Chaldekas Family

Crown Island Family Practice, A.M.C.

Fred Eckert

The Gensler Group

Forrest and Maureen Goetschius

The Goodfellow Family

Charles and Linda Hayes

Hayes Hart CPAs, Wealth Management, Inc.

The Huck Family

Anne and Ingolf Kiland

Kari Lyons Realtor

Rick and Katie Moore

Jack and Gloria Nedell

Carol Novick

Pete and Paulette, in celebration of Sandy Reed

Real Living Napolitano Real Estate and The Morabito Real Estate Group

Joyleen Rottenstein

Mary B. Sandermann

Sharp Coronado Hospital Auxiliary

John and Mary Watson


2020 Golf Committee

Co-chairs: Carol Sommer and Fahd Benjalil
Harold Aronson
Madhu Arora
Cliff Bee, PhD
Georgia Ellis
Jeanne Grote
Gene Kemp
Kathy Kennelly
Phil Monroe
Laurie Mychaels
Bill Perkins
Harriet Sangrey
John Watson 
Judy Weisman

Unable to attend?

Make a donation to support the Campaign for Emergency and Intensive Care at Sharp Coronado. 

For More Information

To learn more about the tournament or to become a sponsor, please contact Sandy Gross at or (619) 522-3766.