Grossmont Hospital Foundation

Sharp HospiceCare Annual Benefit Dinner and Regatta 

HospiceCare Regatta
Reserve your seat on a private yacht for breathtaking views of the regatta.

Celebrate the extraordinary level of care that Sharp HospiceCare brings to end-of-life patients and their loved ones at the 17th Annual Sharp HospiceCare Benefit Dinner & Regatta.

Hosted by Sharp HospiceCare, the benefit regatta brings together racers, community organizations and local families for an important cause. The event takes place on Friday evening, Aug. 23, 2019, with a dinner, followed by all-day festivities on Saturday, Aug. 24, 2019, as guests board sponsored yachts and cruise along the race course with a breathtaking view of the regatta and San Diego Bay.

Proceeds from this event benefit Sharp HospiceCare's Homes for Hospice Campaign, an initiative to build residential hospice homes in San Diego County. Learn more or view a virtual tour of Sharp HospiceCare's Hospice Homes.



Unable to attend?

Make a donation to support enhancements to end-of-life care at Sharp HospiceCare.

Schedule of Events

Benefit Dinner
Friday, Aug. 23
6 pm

Hotel del Coronado
1500 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118

Valet Only $20

Due to construction, self-parking will not be available

Saturday, Aug. 24
10:30 am

Coronado Yacht Club/San Diego Bay
1631 Strand Way
Coronado, CA 92118

Silent auctions and opportunity drawings.  Board a spectator yacht and watch the regatta race action. Ticket includes lunch, beverages (including beer and wine on the yachts), post-race party barbecue dinner and live entertainment.

2019 Event Sponsors

Honorary Fleet Admiral
Scott & Sue Wing

$25,000 Honorary Admiral Sponsor
Horizon Oxygen and Medical Equipment Inc.

In Memory of Virginia Napierskie

$15,000 Honorary Rear Admiral Sponsors

Progressive Management Systems

$10,000 Honorary Commodore Sponsors
Davis & Adams Construction, Inc.
Sharp Memorial Hospital Auxiliary

$5,000 Honorary Vice Commodore Sponsors
American Medical Response
Comfort Keepers of East County San Diego
EC Constructors, Inc.
Emerald Textiles
Ernst & Young LLP
Featheringill Mortuary
Generations Healthcare
Grossmont Hospital Volunteer Auxiliary
McGriff Insurance Services
McGrory Family Fund
Sharp Community Medical Group
Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group
Waypoint Financial Partners

$2,500 Honorary Captain Sponsors
A Better Solution Home Care & Nursing, Inc.
Alliant Insurance Services
City National Bank
Cuningham Group Architecture, Inc.
DPR Construction
Fairway Independent Mortgage Corporation
Finch, Thornton & Baird, LLP
Erick and Teresa Johnson and Family
Lockton Insurance Brokers
McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.
Riley Mixson
Pacific Medical Buildings
Rutherford Family
San Diego Marine Exchange, Inc.
Skyline Sunrooms, Inc.
Dan and Barbie Spinazzola
Stericycle, Inc.
Union Bank
Westmont of La Mesa

$1,500 Honorary Mariner Sponsors
Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Global Commercial Banking
Beron Electrical, Inc.
Dr. David Bodkin and Marita Malskis-Bodkin
The Burnham Foundation
Dignity Memorial
First Citizens Bank
Greenwood Memorial Park and Mortuary
Honor Care Network
La Mesa Lion's Club
Layton Construction Company, LLC
Dawn Lee-Schlieder
McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.
Netsmart Homecare
David and Barbara Snodgrass
Southland Electric, Inc.
Tom and Alyce Vessey

$1,000 Honorary First Mate Sponsors
Coldwell Banker West
Dynalectric San Diego
HMC Architects
Diana Stephens Holman
Jeff Katz Architecture
Mark and Tracy Lyon
Tom Pousti, MD and Marjan Pousti
Neil Senturia and Barbara Bry
Time to Move Care Placement, Inc.

Shusterman Wealth Management (Spectator Boat VIP Party $2,000)
Scott Wing Family (Saturday Registration Area $2,000)
Suzi Johnson (Friday Night Wine - In Memory of Virginia Napierskie $2,000)
Jimmy and Sherri Summers AND Bill and Stephanie Navrides (Centerpieces - In Memory of Virginia Napierskie $1,500)
Sharp Community Medical Group (Spectator Boat Refreshments $1,500)
Legacy Funeral & Cremation Care (Volunteer Meal Day of Event on Friday, August 23rd $1,300)
Daralyne Baddour CPA (Photographer $1,000)
Dean and Nancy Eckenroth (Auctioneer on Friday, August 23rd $1,000)
Sharp Rees-Stealy Medical Group (Porta Pottie $1,000)
Deena O'Shea (Spectator Boat Wine $750)
Mark Clements (Live Entertainment $600)
Lindy Mamar and Mary Allis Curran (Centerpiece Magnum Champagne $500)
Rainier and Jackie Busch (Black Box Wine $400)
Frank and Kathy Bongiovanni (Steel Drum Band $250)
LogoExpressions - Spectator Host Bags

2019 Planning Committee

Kathy Bongiovanni, Event Chair
Sherri Summers, Event Chair 

Brad Alberts Jeff Jakus Jill Powell Bonnie Van Vugt
Dee Ammon Jennifer Jordan Bill Quealy Alyce Vessey
Susan Bartsch Steve Kantor Veronica Ramirez Susan Whitt
Jackie Busch Denise Kelly David Salisbury Jeff Wilber
Mark Clements Betsy Lemaire Pat Schulze  
Cindy Crist,NP Janine Lortscher Peter Shusterman  
Dean Eckenroth Tracy Lyon Lia Smith  
Ben Everhart Marita Malskis-Bodkin Valerie Stahl  
Dave Flint Julie Matibag Nancy Strickland  
Matthew Guillory Darlene Mera Lyndsi Summers  

Regatta Race Winners

For information about the winners of the 2018 Sharp HospiceCare Regatta, see the Cortez Racing Association website.

For More Information

To learn more about the event and sponsorship opportunities, please call the Grossmont Hospital Foundation at 619-740-4200 or email Bill Navrides at

Please note that Sharp HealthCare does not control or endorse the information presented on external websites, nor do these websites endorse the information found on